top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJennifer Schwickerath

Scared of Your Shadow


Fear.

Anxiety.

Worry.

Thinking three steps ahead. Overthinking every situation. Making up different scenarios in your mind. Fighting as hard as you can, even though you don't even know what it is you're fighting.

It's exhausting.

I personally have battled it for most of my life. It's hard of me to let things be. I constantly try to grab on to any control I can.

I hate being alone. Every noise I hear gives me an overwhelming amount of fear. My heart starts to races. I begin to think that someone is following me.

Is anyone else like that?

Where you could be anywhere, Target, getting gas, and then suddenly you feel like someone is watching you.

You start looking over your shoulder, calling a friend, or even just leaving wherever you are.

I know that we live in a dangerous time. I'm not saying that we are always just paranoid. We do need to be on guard for off feelings and be careful.

I am saying that we are full of fear. The media and many other sources have shoved it in our faces. Kidnappings, murders, and sex trafficking are all real issues that we are dealing with. It's heartbreaking.

But, are you letting it control you? Are you allowing fear of what 'might' happen keep you from something amazing?

I'm learning slowly, but surely that life is too short for the 'what ifs'.

We don't have time to sit, worry, and waste our limited time that God has blessed us with on this Earth.

Let this be a gentle reminder.

Maybe, just maybe, it's you. You are scaring yourself by making up situations in your head. You are worrying yourself to tears. Why?

Bad things happen. Truth of it is, we have no control over all the things of the world.

You can only control one thing. Yourself.

You can choose to worry and let it all get to you, or you can choose to let God take care of it and live your life the best you know how.

Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness. - Isaiah 41:10

There is no fear in love; but perfect love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in love. - 1 John 4:18

I love this song. Talks about breaking away from fear.

The Break Up Song - By: Francesca Battistelli

46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page